温度感觉: -12°
  • 实时天气:蒙特利尔
    温度感觉: -0°
  • 实时天气:温尼伯 -5°
    温度感觉: -9°
查看: 5609|回复: 4

[分享]在加拿大找工作

发表于 2006-10-5 23:45:46 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
Just like to share something with Chinese fellows. I have been here for over 10 years since I came over from China in 1994 as an international student. I have been working for several Fortun 500 companies for many years (all in financial sector).  What I have found is looking for a job you like is not so difficult at all.  

In terms of plan, I would say it all depends on how you position yourself and how much you know yourself – your strengths and weaknesses.  When doing it, it comes to 2 factors – your overall qualifications and strategy.  Of course, sometimes it is related to timing and luck as well.  

Also, there are couple things you need to be aware of:

•        Degree and certification. I got two degrees (an undergrate and a master) and one professsional title. I think that is enough for me to work for the industry I want to. I don’t need a Phd unless I really have the need to justify this.  Degree only gives you more opportunities to get the foot in the door.  I didn’t get my master degree until I found I need this to help me to climb up the corporate ladder.  
•        Master degree.  Get a master degree from a top rank school if you really want to get one.  For example, for MBA, I would go for Rotman (UT), Schulich (York), and Western.  Sorry, I am talking about Canada.

•         While Canadian degree is critical I believe experience is equally important.  When I got my first job, I didn’t have any Canadian work experience, but I have a undergraduate degree from a Canadian university. My employer considerred this and substituted this for so call “Canadian experience”. Think about this. If you are a boss, you would like to work with someone using the same terms when talking about the same thing.